Emerging Australian filmmakers honoured at 2017 TROPFEST Craft Awards

Thursday 9 February, 2017 - Seven emerging Australian filmmakers have been honoured at this year’s Tropfest Craft Awards which took place tonight, ahead of 25th anniversary of TROPFEST, the world’s largest short film festival.

Hosted at 1PSQ, the new flagship Parramatta city Campus for Western Sydney University, the Craft Awards is Tropfest’s event to celebrate all aspects of the craft of filmmaking and acknowledges the best of Australian film production from the finalist films that excel in the fields of cinematography, editing, sound, composition, visual effects (VFX), production design and screenwriting. Each category of the Craft Awards are presented and judged by its corresponding Australian screen industry guild/society, with prizing including a year’s membership and select mentorship programs for the correlating guild/society.

Founder and Chair of Tropfest, John Polson said “it is fantastic to have the support of Australia’s leading screen industry guilds and societies to present and judge these important awards. Tropfest is not just about crowning the winner on the night, but also about recognizing the craft and skill that goes into each individual film; and who better to decide than Australia’s leading bodies in the industry”.

NSW President and National Vice President of the Australian Cinematographers Society, David Lewis ACS said “we are pleased to be associated with Tropfest and to be involved with the judging of the Cinematography Award for this year’s Tropfest Craft Awards. We judged this award purely based on what we saw on the screen, without the judges being aware of the cinematographers’ names. We wish Tropfest the best of luck with the film festival this year”.

Tropfest, presented by CGU Insurance will take place on Saturday 11th February in which the finalists will see their short films screen to a live audience in Tropfest’s new home of Sydney’s Parramatta Park, while being broadcast globally on Red Bull TV and nationally on free-to-air channel Eleven.

Since its inception 25 years ago, Tropfest has played a pivotal role in fostering the careers of Australia’s biggest names in the film and TV industry, including Sam Worthington, Joel Edgerton, Rebel Wilson and dozens more, with past judges including Will Smith, Nicole Kidman, Russell Crowe, Cate Blanchett, Ewan McGregor and more.


The 2017 Tropfest Craft Award recipients are:


  • Winner of Best Cinematography - Judged and Presented by The Australian Cinematographers Society
  • Tim Tregoning - Love, Steve
  • Winner of Best Editing - Judged and Presented by the Australian Screen Editors Guild
  • Eugene E~NRG - Mutonia Burnout
  • Winner of Best Sound - Judged and Presented by the Australian Screen Sound Guild
  • Shane Vancuylenberg - Going Vego
  • Winner of Best Original Score - Judged and Presented by the Australian Guild of Screen Composers
  • Katya Sourikova - The Beekeepers
  • Winner of Best VFX - Judged and Presented by the Visual Effects Society
  • Tristan Klein - The Wall
  • Winner of Best Production Design - Judged and Presented by the Australian Production Design Guild
  • Kim Ritchie - Meat and Potatoes
  • Winner of Best Screenplay   Judges and Presenter provided by HLA Management     
  • Matt Day - The Mother Situation


The 25th annual TROPFEST will be held on Saturday, February 11, 2017